Uncle Ben


A young pretty girl laughs.

“Now don’t forget, Uncle Harold.”

“I won’t forget, Sara.”

“He almost skipped out on his own wedding.” A group of people laugh as the phone rings.

“Mr. Harold. It’s for you.”

“I’m busy. Tell them to call back later.”

The joking goes on for a couple minutes then Sam, the butler, comes. He takes Ben Harold, the host of the party, aside.

“Ben, this guy on the phone…he scares me.”

“What is it Sam?”

“He said you only have 42 hours. He said that you….” He started to finish the rest of the message when Mr. Harold interrupted saying, “Excuse me, Sara. I’ve got to leave.”

“What’s with him? I’ve never seen him so upset”, a friend says.

Later you see Mr. Harold talking to an acquaintance of his that has his back to you..

“What are you trying to do to me, Fred?”

“I’m not trying to do anything to you. You knew that you had to have the money by Thursday. If you don’t get it, there’s gonna be havoc in your house.”

“But I told you the shipment won’t be coming in for a couple days to a week. Can’t you just wait?”

“No, I don’t think so. I think I’ve waited long enough.”

Back at the house…

“It’s almost 11:00. Where is that uncle of yours, Sara? He’s been gone for almost 2 hours. He’s just not been his self lately.”

“Yes, I know, Marge. Ever since you two got married, he hasn’t been the same.”

“I think I’m going to go home. maybe he stopped there for a while.”

“All right. I’ll see you in the morning. It isn’t every day something like this comes along.”

“Yes, I know. It’s going to be a long day for everyone tomorrow. I’ll be getting up bright, and early to help out. It’s going to be at the recreation room you said, Sara?”

“Yeah. That’s where all the action is going to be. Well, if you’re going to go home, you better get going.”

“I think  will. See you.”

“See ya.”

As Marge goes out the door, Sara goes around the crowd and sees if everyone has what they want. She then sees Sam and asks where Harold went.

“I don’t know. All I know is what the man on the phone said and that he went out in a hurry.”

“What did the man on the phone say?”

“I don’t know if Mr. Harold would want me to say.”

“Just tell me. I need to know.”

“He said that Mr. Harold had only 42 hours left to get the money or else something is going to happen in the next couple of days.”

“That sounds serious. Thank you Sam. Could you watch over the party? I know it isn’t like this to have everyone hosting the party to leave, but this sounds serious to me.”

“Yes, ma’am. I will do my best.”

“Thank you kindly.” Sara then hurries off for what she needs and is out the door. As she nears her uncle’s house, she hears a scream and hurries to get inside.

“Marge, is that you?”

“Yes, it’s me. I don’t think we’re going to have that celebration like we planned.”

Sara sees Ben Harold in a chair with a knife sticking out. She then talks. “We better call the police.”

“Sara, I think you should. I don’t think I could handle it very well.”

“Very well Marge.” She then dials. “Yes, there’s been a murder at Sutton Place…Thank you.”

Next scene you see the police cars in front.

One thought on “Uncle Ben

  1. Pingback: Eddie Frankl | As Is and Non Edited

Your Thoughts

